desperately needs help

ok, so heres the situation. i CAN upload files. i have checked my host account and it has verified that i DO in fact have files uploaded. the problem is that when i go to acces my ftp theres nothing there. i can only assume it is because i dont have an index. could someone please tell me how to make an index? im EXTREMELY new to this and any help would be greatly appreciated.
thanks

Hi there es p. onaj,

My guess is that you might have uploaded your files to the incorrect folder on the server... have you got a public_html folder? or a usr/www/ folder? Have a poke around in the folders on your server and see if you can find your stuff

Making an index page isn't hard. Just open notepad and type in something like-
<html><head><title>whatever you want to call it</title>
</head><body bgcolor="#FFFFFF"><br><br><h3 align=center><font face=verdana color="#000000">Coming soon!</font</h3><br><br><br><br></body></html>

Then save it as "index.html" in the folder where your web pages are on your computer and then upload it to your server. I usually have a temp index page until I'm happy with the 'real' one and the rest of the site - then I drop in the 'real' index page and overwrite the temp one. Hope that makes sense..

kathy,
thank you for your reply. in regards to the files being in the wrong folder, the only folder thats there is called "parent folder" and all the files i uploaded are listed below it in the folder view window. as for the tree view it says my host name and underneath that my username. i have watched the tutorials in the help section for smartftp snd they show folders such as "htdocs" and "logs" but all i have is one with my username as the title. im beginning to get very frustrated and am about to just give up, please be my great teacher . haha