Connection problems - New to FTP

Hi, I am fairly new to FTP and am having problems connecting to my home server. I have built a server at home using Windows 2003 and this connects to the internet via a NAT protected router. On the server I have bulletproof ftp server edition set up and most of my family can connect happily using this.

I found your SmartFTP v1.0.980 software recently and only intend to use it for personal use, whilst away from home. Since installing it, I have been experiencing patchy data connection problems which may be down to my NAT protected router. If I bring the server into the DMZ. I can connect without problems. When full protection is restored, your ftp client connects but then falls over when establishing a data port.

The NAT has been set up so that only ports 20 & 21 are open for the FTP connection. When Smart FTP connects, it seems to try other ports for the data transfer and this does not seem right.

This is a copy of the log. I have "*" out all personal data.

***********************************************************************************************
* SESSION STARTED AT 04.Feb.2004 10:28:04
***********************************************************************************************

Resolving host name *********.com...
Connecting to (***********.com) -> IP: **.**.***.*** PORT: 21
Connected to (************.com) -> Time = 41ms
Socket connected waiting for login sequence.
220 ****** FTP Server
USER *****
331 Password required for ******.
PASS (hidden)
230 User ***** logged in.
SYST
215 UNIX Type: L8
REST 100
350 REST supported. Ready to resume at byte offset 100.
REST 0
350 REST supported. Ready to resume at byte offset 0.
PWD
257 "/" is current directory.
TYPE A
200 Type set to A.
PASV
227 Entering Passive Mode (**,**,***,***,**,***).
Opening data connection IP: **,**,***,***,**,*** PORT: 8618.