SmartFTP troubles

Not sure if it's a bug most have experienced, however, I've been using SmartFTP for around 2 years now. I was using it on a fairly regular basis, and one day about 3 weeks ago it decided to stop working. I know I hadn't upgraded SmartFTP for about 150 days or so - the splash screen notified me. So I decided to upgrade, at first I had no problems. Eventually, simotanious to my host switching to a new server, I had many problems with connections timing out, etc. Basically I couldn't get a file list or download anything. Occassionally if I spammed the server/smart ftp with a whole bunch of connection windows I might actually be able to connect.

Now at first this seemed weird to me. Here using SmartFTP for two years, and suddenly it decided to stop working *yikes*. So pretty much uninstalled smartftp and decided to probably call it quits. Been using alternatives such as leech / WS_FTP, I tell you they're nothing compared to the power of SmartFTP. Tons more friendly to use, plus I was used to using it.

Come to find out, I was messing around with it today. I tried reinstalling it after uninstalling an reinstalling it 5-6 times a few weeks back. Same problem. BUT I found out it had to do with the Application data, I suppose there were some corrupted files. So this is just a post to warn other users, if you're experiencing some weird problems with smart ftp and know the server's not at fault (maybe use some other ftp program), it may be your: C:Documents and SettingsUser_NameApplication DataSmartFTP, that may contain corrupted files. I am pretty sure since I've not heard of anyone else having this problem when they began using it a month or two ago. But if you're like me and have weird stuff happen after using it forever, just kill the whole smartftp folder in application data, it solved all my problems. And I am once again proud to say I'm a smartftp user.